ANNOUNCEMENT: SADC Malaria Elimination 8 appoints Hon. Dr. Z. Mkhize as new Chairperson

Figure 1: Hon. Dr. Mkhize, Minister of Health, RSA

Minister of Health for South Africa, Hon. Dr. Mkhize was on Thursday 5th November 2020 elected incoming Chair of the SADC Malaria Elimination 8 (E8) Initiative. This occurred at the annual meeting of the Ministers of Health for Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe – who collectively form the E8 Ministerial Committee.

Hon. Dr. Mkhize took over this role from outgoing Chairperson, Minister of Health and Childcare for Zimbabwe, H.E Mr. Vice President C.G.D.N Chiwenga. Zimbabwe, who led the agenda for malaria elimination diligently from 2018 - 2020, was instrumental in supporting the signing of the Windhoek Declaration to end Malaria in the SADC Region by 2030, by Heads of State and Government in 2018. This declaration cements the commitment by Heads of State to end malaria in the region.

Hon. Dr. Mkhize thanked member states for entrusting him with the responsibility to assume the reigns of the E8, noting that it was indeed an honour to serve in this capacity, and highlighting the commendable progress made to date under the leadership of outgoing Chair.

Hon. Dr. Mkhize reiterated his and South Africa’s commitment to continue working closely with all member states to realize the vision of E8. He commended colleagues across the malaria community, calling on policy leaders, technical partners, and the private sector to strengthen their concerted efforts towards a malaria-free southern Africa.

Hon. Dr. Mkhize will serve as the E8 Chair for a two (2) year period, 2020 – 2022.

Figure 2: Hon. Dr. Mkhize, Minister of Health, RSA during the E8 Ministers of Health, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, 2019